The Pilgrim kit

 * You can find all the equipment at temple number 1 Ryouzenji *

1. CLOTHING

The japanese pilgrim has a special symbolic clothing to walk the pilgrimage.
You can take what you want, there is a great tolerance on the pilgrimage, nothing is obligatory.

The classic clothing is made of a white jacket, a rucksack, a walking stick, white trousers, a "chinese hat", a bell, a white bag and a little stole.

tenue     girl

A/C buses' henros have often the complete kit, wrapped with transparent plastic to protect stick and hat from the dirt: they will be exposed at home in the tokonoma. Walking pilgrims (歩 き 遍路) often have hiking or sport clothes, but always covered with the white jacket, with or without sleeves.

veste   veste2

The white jacket Hakue ou Byakue 白衣  (はくえ, びゃくえ) is marked at the back Yu (sanscrit sacred syllable for Maitreya) + Namu Daishi Henjo Kongo 南無大師遍照金剛 (Ave Daishi shining diamond), to honnour Kûkai. it is white like those of the dead to mean renunciation, and dead henros were buried with it. Bijas, Kukai and sanskrit
Maitreya Yu bija

It's the only "obligatory" piece of cloth. Essential to be known as a henro on the road. The henro is respected on the road, much more than the simple passing stranger. It changes completely the relations with the people.

The henro is considered to be somebody who has left his obligations and family to make an effort for himself or for the others (after a death for exemple), he is respected and eventually helped by offerings (o-settai).  The o-settai is a way to participate in the pilgrimage, and it cannot be refused. If it is too much (money) or too heavy (pounds of mandarins), you'll share it with other henros.

The rucksack is normal, all rucksack adapted to long walking stages (Compostela type) is adapted.

White trousers are difficult to keep clean on muddy paths, so many walkers are wearing jeans or dark trousers. Some wear leggings to protect the shoes of the water durind heavy subtropical rain.

The "chinese hat" Sugegasa 菅笠 (すげがさ) is common, it drains sweat off, air passes through (theorically because not to be hurt you have to protect your head from the osier frame, rolling an Onsen towel around your head or on the frame). Covered whith plastic, it's a good rain protection. But it is cumbersome and personnally I feel in fancy dress with it. Bob sunhat is classic, white or other colour. Cap with a flap on the neck is practical also.

chapeau     Vu de dessous dessous  


The pilgrim's staff Kongozue 金 剛杖(こ んごうづ え)is made of wood, with a colored and golden cover at the top, often with a bell to be heard from the other pilgrims on the way, and to frighten the "wild animals and the bad spirits" away. It is marked Dougyou Ninin 同行二人 (both walking together), the stick representing Kûkai walking with the henro, exactly like Compostela's "bourdon" stick represents St James walking with the pilgrim.


The stole Wagesa 輪袈裟 (わげさ), on the neck. It's written 四国八十八ヶ所巡拝 Shikoku Hachijuuhachi kasho junpai "= Shikoku 88 temples pilgrimage" et Namu Daishi Henjo Kongo 南無大師遍照金剛, like on the jacket.

etole



Two websites to see equipment and prices, individually or by set (セット setto).

Henro kit

Henro kit 2


2. MAPS and ACCOMODATION DIRECTORY

One book is absolutely necessary to the henro: "Shikoku henro hitori aruki dougyou ninin" 四国 遍路 ひとり 歩き 同行 二人 (Shikoku pilgrimage alone walking together going) by Mr MIYASAKI Tateki 宮崎建樹. The first volume contains maps and accomodation directory, the second gives advice to pilgrims (only japanese, it will be useful only for those understanding japanese, others can lighten the rucksack). A new edition was printed, it seems you can now buy the map book separately for 2500 yens and the text book for 1000 yens. Verify the map book you buy contains the hotel hotel address directory (see below, right photo).
The new edition contains more accomodation, but less contour lines. Watch for the differences of altitude (for exemple between temples 19 and 21).

You can find the book at temples 1, 11,21, 24, 29, 54, 75.
Japanes Internet websites where you can order seem difficult if you don't speak japanese:


Shikoku henro hitori aruki dougyou ninin


aruki carte  text

A new english edition: for details see Accomodation

15


3. NOTEBOOK, RITUAL OBJECTS ...

The notebook where you will collect stamps and calligraphy at each temple is called Noukyouchou 納経帳 (のうきょうちょう), book for noukyou (sutra's copy). You can find it large, small, white or with a drawing or phot of each temple on the other side, practical not to make mistakes in the order of the temples if you don't read fluently japanese numbers.


nokyo1  nokyo2

Arriving at the temple, you go to the office Noukyoujo 納経所 to obtain the Houin 宝印 (temple's seal), commonly known as Noukyou, and let write a calligraphy on the page, for 300 yens at each temple, which represents a little sum if you're walking the whole the pilgrimage: 300 x 88 = 26400 yens soit 180 Euros or 200 US$. Some strangers go without, and you can see japanese people take a photo at each temple and go away immediately.

tampon


Some let put stamps on a roll 掛軸  (かけじく), or on their white jacket.

Meaning of the Calligraphy in the Nokyocho

"Visiting cards" o-Samefuda 納 札(おさめふだ)are small paper strips wher you can write your name. You can put one at every temple in the boxes in front of each Hondo and each Daishido. They are sold by 200. As everything on the henro trail, it is not obligatory.
You can also give one samefuda to people giving you an o-settai, to thank them.
Mr Kushima recommends not to be too precise with name and address, not to be followed or annoyed by false henro friends when you're back home (spam even on pilgrimage!).
A surname in katakana and eventually the name of your country is enough (Amerika アメリカ Great Britain (igirisu) イギリス Kanada カナダ Australia オ-ストラリィア).

Kushima osamefuda

Samefuda are white for henros who walk around the island for the 4 first times, green from 5 to 7 times, red from 8 to 24 times, silver from 25 to 49 times, golden from 50 to 99 times, and embroidered (called nishiki) from 100 times, that means 100 times 1200 km (750 miles) = 120000 km (75000 miles)! Some inhabitants are collecting high colour cards as a luchy charm.
Some henros carry samefuda in a special box marked "Travelling with daishi on the 88 temples of Shikoku". 


home
same blanc  fuda color  boite

Samefuda meaning

天下泰平    (Tenka taihei)       Peace on Earth
家内安全    (Kanai anzen)        Safety in the household

年 year 月 month 日 day
姓名    name and "christian" name
住所    address

奉納                 (hounou)                        dedicate
八十八ヶ所靈場       (hachijuu hakka sho reijou)     88 sacred places
順拜 ou 巡礼        (junrei)                        pilgrimage
同行二人             (dougyou ninin)                 two walking together



In the bag zudabukuro 頭陀袋(ずだぶくろ)henros carry the pilgrim's noukyouchou, samefuda, incense, etc... Walking henros with rucksack often have none.

The buddhist rosary Juzu 数珠 (じゅず) is intended to buddhist prayer.

Finally, you can have religious books 経本(きょうほん) with the prayers to say at the temple o-tsutome お勤め (おつとめ) or general text to study on the way. the classic book is est "The teaching of Buddha" from Bukkyo dendo Kyokai (BDK) in japanese and english. BDK is the buddhist equivalent of christian Gideons, and put this book in hotels, waiting romm, schools...  BDK


tsutome  tsuto2                bud


*********************************

C


home

Equipement du Henro

 * On trouve tout le matériel au temple numéro 1 Ryouzenji *
0009 Temple 1 Ryozenji.JPG

1. HABILLEMENT

Le henro japonais a tout un équipement vestimentaire et symbolique pour faire le pèlerinage.
Vous pouvez mettre ce que vous voulez, il ya une grande tolérance sur le pèlerinage, rien n'est obligatoire.

La tenue classique comporte une veste blanche, un sac à dos, un pantalon blanc, un bâton de marche avec une clochette, un "chapeau chinois", un sac blanc, une petite étole.

tenue     girl

Les henros en bus "air conditionné" ont tout l'attirail, souvent protégé de plastique transparent pour préserver chapeau et bâtons afin de les ramener intacts pour les exposer dans leur tokonoma (niche dans la pièce principale où on expose les objets de valeur). Les henros qui font le parcours à pied (arukihenro 歩き 遍路) sont souvent équipés de tenue de marche ou de sport, mais ont toujours la veste blanche, avec ou sans manches.

veste   veste2

La veste blanche Hakue ou Byakue 白衣  (はくえ, びゃくえ) est marquée dans le dos Yu (syllabe germe de Maitreya en sanskrit) + Namu Daishi Henjo Kongo 南無大師遍照金剛 (Ave Daishi diamant qui illumine tout), en l'honneur de Kûkai. Elle est blanche comme pour les /morts en signe de renoncement, et on enterrait le henro avec en cas de décès sur le chemin. Voir les bijas, Kukai et le sanscrit
Le bija Yu de Maitreya

C'est la seule chose "obligatoire". Elle est indispensable pour être reconnu comme henro sur la route. Le henro bénéficie d'une considération que n'a pas le marcheur anonyme. Elle change complètement les rapports avec la population.

Le henro est considéré comme quelqu'un qui a quitté ses obligations et ses proches pour faire un effort sur lui-même ou pour les autres (après un décès par exemple), on le respecte et on l'aide éventuellement par des offrandes (o-settai). Le o-settai est une façon de participer au pèlerinage, et il ne doit pas être refusé. S'il est trop important (argent) ou trop encombrant (kilos de mandarines), on le partagera avec d'autres henros.

Le sac à dos est classique, tout sac européen adapté à la marche sur longue distance (type Compostelle) est adapté.

Le pantalon blanc est assez difficile à entretenir sur les entiers boueux, beaucoup de marcheurs sont en jean ou pantalon sombre. Certains portent des guêtres, qui empêchent l'eau de rebondir dans les chaussures par le haut dans les averses tropicales.

Le "chapeau chinois" Sugegasa 菅笠 (すげがさ) est courant, il permet d'évacuer la transpiration car l'air passe dessous, du moins en théorie, parce que l'armature est en osier, donc blessante, et qu'il faut une base en tissu, genre serviette de onsen, enroulée autour de la tête ou de l'armature. Recouvert de plastique, il protège de la pluie. Il est encombrant et je trouve qu'il fait un peu déguisement pour un occidental, mais c'est un avis personnel. Le bob est classique aussi, blanc ou autre. Une casquette avec un rabat sur le cou évite les coups de soleil.

chapeau     Vu de dessous dessous  


Le bâton Kongozue 金 剛杖(こんごうづ え) est en bois, recouvert au sommet d'une housse de tissu coloré et doré, souvent muni d'une clochette qui permet d'entendre arriver les autres sur le chemin, et d'écarter "les bêtes sauvages et les esprits". Il est souvent marqué Dougyou Ninin 同行二人 (les deux vont ensemble), le bâton représentant Kûkai marchant au côté du henro, exactement comme le bourdon du pèlerin de Compostelle représente St Jacques accompagnant le pèlerin.


L'étole Wagesa 輪袈裟 (わげさ) se porte autour du cou. Elle est marquée 四国八十八ヶ所巡拝 Shikoku Hachijuuhachi kasho junpai "= Shikoku 88 temples pèlerinage" et Namu Daishi Henjo Kongo 南無大師遍照金剛, comme sur les vestes.

etole



Deux sites pour avoir une idée du matériel et des prix, unitaires ou en set (セット setto).

Equipement du henro

Equipement du henro 2


2. CARTES et ADRESSES de LOGEMENT

Un livre est absolument indispensable pour le henro:

15 Détails page Logement

C'est l'édition en anglais du guide japonais "Shikoku henro hitori aruki dougyou ninin" 四国 遍路 ひとり 歩き 同行 二人 (Shikoku pèlerinage seul marcher aller ensemble) de MIYASAKI Tateki 宮崎建樹.  Iyohenro

aruki carte  text


3. CARNET, OBJETS RITUELS ...

Le carnet qu'on fait tamponner et calligraphier à chaque temple s'appelle Noukyouchou 納経帳 (のうきょうちょう), livre pour les noukyou (copie de sutras). Il en existe de toutes tailles, à pages blanches ou avec un dessin de chaque temple en face de la page blanche, pratique pour ne pas se perdre dans l'ordre des temples si on ne lit pas bien les chiffres japonais..


nokyo1  nokyo2

A l'arrivée au temple, on va au bureau Noukyoujo 納経所 obtenir le Houin 宝印 (sceau du temple), plus communément appelé du nom générique Noukyou 納経, et faire calligraphier la page, pour 300 yens chaque fois, ce qui représente un petit budget si on parcourt tout: 300 x 88 = 26400 yens soit 180 €. Certains étrangers s'en passent donc, et on voit des japonais prendre une photo en vitesse à chaque temple et repartir aussitôt.

tampon


Certains font apposer les tampons sur un rouleau Kakejiku 掛軸  (かけじく), ou sur leur veste blanche.

C'est joli mais il écrit quoi là?   Voir la signification des calligraphies

Les "cartes de visite" o-Samefuda 納 札(おさめふだ)sont des bandelettes de papier sur lesquelles on écrit son nom. On est censé en mettre une dans chaque boîte devant chaque bâtiment de chaque temple, mais ça n'a rien d'obligatoire. Elles sont en pack de 200, une pur chaque Daishi Hall et une pour chaque Hondo (temple principal).
Elles servent aussi et surtout à donner aux gens qui vous donnent un o-settai, en guise de remerciement.
M. Kushima conseille de ne pas mettre d'adresse précise, par sécurité pour ne pas être suivi et pour ne pas être ennuyé ensuite par les démarcheurs ou faux amis de pèlerinage (le spam même en pèlerinage!)
Un prénom en katakana et éventuellement le nom de votre pays conviennent (Furansu フランス Kanada カナダ Kebekku ケベック Belji- ベルギー   Suisu スイス).

Kushima osamefuda

Elles sont blanches pour les henros faisant le tour de l'île pour les 4 premières fois, vertes de 5 à 7 fois, rouges de 8 à 24 fois, argentées de 25 à 49 fois, dorées de 50 à 99 fois, et en brocard (appelées nishiki) à partir de 100 fois, ce qui représente quand même 100 fois 1200 km, soit 120000 km! Mais ce peut être en bus, pas forcément à pied ! Certains les portent dans une boite spéciale.
Certains habitants recherchent les cartes de hautes couleurs comme porte-bonheur.

same blanc  fuda color  boite


Signification des samefuda

天下泰平    (Tenka taihei)       Paix sur la terre
家内安全    (Kanai anzen)        Sécurité dans la maison

年 année 月 mois 日 jour
姓名    nom et prénom
住所    adresse

奉納                         (hounou)                                    vouer, dédier
八十八ヶ所靈場       (hachijuu hakka sho reijou)     88 lieux sacrés
順拜 ou 巡礼          (junrei)                                       pèlerinage
同行二人                 (dougyou ninin)                         les deux marchent ensemble


Le sac zudabukuro 頭陀袋(ずだぶくろ)sert à porter devant soi les objets nécessaires pour le pèlerinage, noukyouchou, samefuda, encens, etc... Les porteurs de sac à dos n'en ont souvent pas.

Le chapelet bouddhiste Juzu 数珠 (じゅず) est destiné aux prières des bouddhistes.

Enfin, on peut avoir des livres religieux 経本(きょうほん) contenant les prières à dire o-tsutome お勤め (おつとめ) ou des textes plus généraux à étudier en route. Le livre classique est "The teaching of Buddha" de la Bukkyo dendo Kyokai (BDK) en japonais et anglais, dont il existe une version française. La BDK est l'équivalent des Gédéons chrétiens, elle place ce livre dans les hôtels, écoles, salles d'attente...  BDK


tsutome  tsuto2                bud


*********************************
copy

home